Whiskey

Whiskey

Whiskey tasting at Char no. 4 in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

My husband has taken an interest in learning about whiskey this past year and this man loves to learn so I decided to take him to a whiskey class/tasting.

Whiskey, for me, revealed a new facet to the whole drinking culture. It is all about being able to experience and decipher the taste, smell, look, and to a degree the texture. Quite similar to drinking and appreciating a glass of wine. Let me say, I love the school of life! The freedom in going after niche interests and actually being about to go from being completely ignorant to knowledgeable or even a connoisseur is just amazing!

Here are some basics.
What is whiskey?
a spirit distilled from malted grain, esp. barley or rye. Some whiskey are made from corn, which does not necessarily have to be aged.

Types of whiskey:
Scotch
Bourbon
Tennessee whiskey
Rye
Irish whiskey

Ways to Drink whiskey:
Neat- for experienced whiskey drinkers in my opinion

On the rocks- helps with the burn of the alcohol but you do lose some of the aroma and flavor

Cocktail- great to dip your toe into the basic taste of whiskey. My favorite has been whiskey and watermelon.. yummmm

Splash of water- opens up the aroma and taste (even a few drops of water goes a long way).

Cool link: http://www.mrporter.com/journal/journal_issue134/8#3

Cheers!

Leave a comment